Pi Beta Phi Foundation

Pi Beta Phi Foundation

Search form

Create a Scholarship

What kinds of scholarships are available?

Donors can establish scholarships for undergraduates, graduate students and alumnae wishing to continue their education. All scholarships are either expendable or permanently endowed.

An expendable scholarship is one that is established for a short period of time, usually five years. An endowed scholarship is one that is permanently established to yield scholarship awards into perpetuity. Each have separate minimums as established by policy, are invested prudently to maximize the available funds for award and have a small administrative fee assessed annually.

The current minimum for an expendable scholarship is $10,000. The current minimum for a permanently endowed scholarship is $50,000. Foundation scholarship awards are always at least $1,000 and more than half are usually in the $2,000–$5,000 range.

Memorial scholarships established to honor members who have passed away are exempt from minimum dollar amount requirements, although if the total donated/raised is less than what is needed to make an award, the gifts will roll into the General Scholarship Fund.

How do I establish a scholarship?

Donors can fund scholarships through gifts of outright cash, appreciated securities, through a planned gift such as a bequest or gift of life insurance or a combination thereof. Pi Beta Phi chapters and alumnae organizations can also establish scholarships.

A permanently endowed scholarship establishes a lasting legacy, benefits members in financial need and strengthens Pi Beta Phi — all into perpetuity. Endowed scholarships can be funded over a period of up to three years. 

Expendable scholarships can also be converted to permanently endowed ones, if gifts are made to reach the required minimum for a permanently endowed scholarship. 

Can I restrict the scholarship to my chapter?

Absolutely. More than half of all Foundation scholarships have some sort of restriction or preference established, generally either by chapter or by state of residence. Foundation staff can help discuss available options.

How are scholarships awarded?

All scholarship awards, with the exception of the Sign of the Arrow Melissa Scholarship, are based on three criteria:

  • Financial Need
  • GPA
  • A record of service to Pi Beta Phi, campus and community

The Foundation’s scholarship process opens each November and is completely online. The deadline is February 15, and awards for the coming academic year are announced by May 30. Disbursements are made by September 1.

Committees for undergraduate, graduate and alumnae continuing education awards review every completed application and score each applicant on the published criteria. Pi Beta Phi alumnae from across the U.S. and Canada comprise the committees, which will evaluate anywhere from 20 to 300 applications in a one-month period. Each applicant is reviewed by at least two committee members. Committee scoring yields a ranking, and applicants are then matched to available scholarships. The Board of Trustees makes the final determination as to who receives scholarship awards. 

For more information or to establish a scholarship, please contact Betsy West McCune, Programs and Operations Director.

2014-2015 Board of Trustees Announced

California Kappa Beth Seidelhuber Sordi has been elected President of Pi Beta Phi Foundation. Two new trustees have also been elected to the board. more

Monthly Donors

Sharon Abeyta-Levey
Rachel Maria Ainza
Becky Gross Albert
JoLynn Reiley Aldinger
Kim Dawn Archuleta
Peggy Eble Baczuk
Jennifer Lynn Bailey
Rhonda McKelvey Bartz-Royse
Jessica Lynne Bevan
Fran DeSimone Becque
Lindsay Diane Bell
Maja Tanaka Berge
Jerelyn Wright Biehl
Anitra Eder Bishop
Daphney Rivera Bitanga
Brittney Jenkens Bolyard
Katie Melissa Bosworth
Ashley Bradbury
Barbara Burnett
Katy Leigh Bushaw
Fran Pileggi Cardaci
Christina Weston Caron
Jill Mackey Carrel
Kellee A. Casebeer
Teri Chadwick
Karen Shelton Chevalier
Yasmin Susan Choudhury
Ashlee Kate Christofferson
Terri Rhodes Coke
Alexis M. Coleman
Jillian Barbara Conrad
Cathy Filson Cooper
Heather Nicole Coyle
Angela Pinion Crawford
Jeriann Hill Crawford
Eily Cummings
Erin Elizabeth Davis
Michele Tereschuk Davitt
Melissa Denning
Alicia Kelley Dittenber
Lindsey L. Durkin
Mary Beth Rhyne Dykes
Shawn Eagleburger
Adell Nestor Eckenrode
Emory McGinnis Eison
Kayla McCarthy Erlandson
Heather Marie Estrella
Emily David Fajardo
Monica Marie Fenelli
Cindy McLean Finke
Pat Rudy Fleet
Gretchen Stahl Foran
JoAnn Young Ford
Susan Landreth Fry
Margo Hentz Game
Lise Byars George
Jennifer Lamotte Gerety
Kristie Callahan Gill
Sarah Ghiazza Gilmore
Elizabeth Anne Grazioli
Eileen O'Neil Grigutis
Ashley Sloan Hallowell
Jackie Rush Harbour
Barb Lewis Head
Alison Veit Heafitz
Hillary Moore Hendrix
Amy McCabe Henry
Leanne Heuchert
Carol Rodgers Hewitt
Darci Lynn Hiemstra
Michelle McLeod Hillis
Katey Newell Hobbs
Betty Staggs Huckabay
Bimi Lane Huebner
Katy Ibsen
Linda Noel Ibsen
Audrey Sullivan Jacob
Avi Kaur Jagpal
Jacqueline M. Jasek
Nancy Barclay Jones
Tanya Frank Jones
Christine Toth Justice
Amy Bader Keirle
Caitlin Pierce Kissee
Amy Klostermann
Judy Weltsch Klote
Leslie McCloy Kramer
Rebecca Brannen Lasse
Sherrie Pendley Liebsack
Erin Palla Lindsey
Sarah Fritts Livingston
Vivian Mei Long
Lynn Dowling Lucurell
Peggy Claire Malone
Eden E. Mares
Toni Ann Martinovich
Kristen Massey
Sandy Luc McDonell
Ruth Walsh McIntyre
Kathleen Ann Meriano
Caroline Ward Miguelez
Heather Wilson Miller
Margaret Harm Moorhead
Meghan Straw Morton
Carolyn Whitney Much
Hannah Muehlbauer
Cynthia Boretsky Nahorney
Aggie Ann Nestor
Kim J. OBrien
Jenna Jones Oesch
Jill Pampel
Leigh Mossman Pauling
Raney MacLaughlin Payne
Carla Liles Percival
Rainey Dovlyn Peuse
Shannon Cloyes Phillips
Alison Jeanette Pilgrim
Cheryl Altherr Planalp
Wendy Labreche Pratt
Jennifer Ringgold Pregler
Terri Anderson Quick
Elizabeth Rath
Missy A. Reams
Catherine Howley Reiter
Tina Lynn Rivard
Lindsay Cooke Rolph
Teri Kirk Rolph
Lisa Rede Roman
Shari Slovikosky Russenberger
Callie Joe Rutherford
Lisa Pithan Sabatino
Lauren Beth Scarola
Sande Elisabeth Schweier
Janet Beazley Scraper
Krista Searle
Paula Pace Shepherd
Chanel LaChappa Sheragy
Betsy Beese Sheridan
Amy Nicole Shuart
Gina Johnson Skolmowski
Mary Petticrew Smalling
Luellen Clymo Smith
Sarah Hayes Smith
Beth Seidelhuber Sordi
Amy Lorenzen Southerland
Moriah Merkel Sowders
Cindy Rice Svec
Casey Alexandra Talbot
Mary Rakow Tanner
Amy Wasserman Tatro
Leigh Thiedeman
Karen Sulley Thorn
Mary Alice Classen Tinari
Kayla Trautwein
Denise Pierce Turnbull
Carissa Cleverley Valencia
Mary Grothjahn Van Horn
Hillary Michaels Von Schroeter
Nicky Rianne Vranas
Bobby Sanford Walker
Jenna Christine Wallace
Stacey Nicole Warren
Sally Sewell Wightman
Ann Wear Wiley
Dawn Wilkins
Marla Neelly Wulf
Helen Yu
Carrie Annette Ziemak
Ashley Lynne Zimmerman
Hayley Ann Zimmerman
Veronica Renee Zukowski

click here for complete list